Bardiness

"..a bardy view!"

Delusion, blind faith or absolute belief?

I'm halfway through Richard Dawkins' bestseller "The God Delusion". Delusion1
It's been sitting in my downstairs privy for months, and I've been reading it during my intermittent bowel movements. 

Dawkins is one of the worlds most famous atheists. The whole premise of his book is that the notion of an all powerful deity is but a convenient delusion for those who do not seek alternative scientific reasons for mankind's existence. 

Indeed, such is his fervour, he believes most people are atheists, and they're just afraid to come out of the closet and proclaim themselves.

There's no denying his academic credentials, and he writes with great enthusiasm, entertainment and gravitas.The book has been significantly lauded by the most eminent.

For someone who rejects and criticises the worship of God, he has no qualms in being totally reverential to Charles Darwin who is clearly the driving force of this magnum opus.

I've been fascinated by Charles Darwin since my early teens, though not so much because of his theory of evolution, but more about the remarkable journey he embarked upon, and his devotion to a subject which was in direct conflict with the accepted thinking of his day.

I have read and reread his book "The Voyage of the Beagle", and although it has a tendency to plod, it is a marvellous account of an incredible five year voyage of discovery.  Beagle

This year is the 200th anniversary of his birth, and I know that after all my years of good intent, I will finally get to visit his home at Down House in Kent. In fact, I've even joined English Heritage in order to give me free admission as often as I wish! 

But back to Dawkins. Is his book dangerous? I think not and it serves a valuable purpose. Those who have a great faith in God, regardless of their religion, will certainly have it tested, and it will be a measure of their faith.

Those who are agnostic are likely to sway in Dawkins favour. Those who proclaim to be religious but find his book convincing are  probably fair weather church goers anyway.

Dawkins book is very scientific and educational. He presents an excellent argument.

I don't believe Darwin was an atheist, and there is no record of him saying so to my knowledge. I doubt he would be best pleased, for all the attention, to be raised as the beacon for the atheist movement.

There's a conflict going on, especially in the USA, between Darwinism and Creationism. The latter is just plain daft and disturbingly narrow minded.

Darwinism and the belief in a supreme omniscient being however, which is the mainstay and comfort of millions around the word, need not necessarily be at odds.

There is a place for them in the 21st century, and free thinking, open minded individuals should be able to accommodate both!

 

March 27, 2009 - Posted by | Science

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

