Bardiness

"..a bardy view!"

Britain’s Got Tawdry…

I can't resist commenting on Susan Boyle's performance on Britain's Got Talent. I don't watch this programme (honest) but my wife showed me the YouTube video and I was totally stunned! Is there anyone around the world who hasn't seen it?Britpic

Apart from this woman's superb voice I was struck by two things.One was the near disgust emanating from the audience before she'd even opened her mouth, together with the derision engendered when she said that her aspirations were to be like Elaine Page.

I'm surprised some acts don't get pelted with rotten veg!

It is clear that anyone who doesn't look like they've slid off the front cover of Hello! magazine is automatically judged negatively. Such are the times we live in.

Audiences of talent shows past, Opportunity Knocks for instance, would not have behaved so disgracefully. Perhaps the British notions of fair play and dignified reserve was still healthy in society 25 years ago.

I'm also amazed at the hysteria. What is it with audiences today which has them chattering and whooping like chimpanzees on heat? Are they on stimulants?

The second thing which struck and really entertained me, was watching Simon Cowell's expressions. There is no doubt he was overjoyed, but if ever there was an animated parody of eyeballs replaced by rolling dollar signs, this was it.

You could almost hear the cranking levers and pulleys of his brain as the jackpot was spilling out!

Ok – call me cynical, but I'm not far wrong! Right?

April 16, 2009 - Posted by | United Kingdom

2 Comments »

  1. Unfortunately with my predicament I cannot judge the quality of the voice here and also I do not remember the song. Oddly enough with the use I get from my implant, to me anyway, it sounded beautiful.
    Having said that, I agree with the rest of your sentiments precisely. How times change, I’m often left with no recourse but to watch MTV whilst my kids are. What strikes me is that I have yet to watch an original dance routine and more importantly, when I was a young adult and first saw a stripper night club routine, I see more on MTV than I ever saw there.

    Like

    Comment by spook | April 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. I saw today that she has already achieved what most A listers have not and got onto the American market. Been interviewed by Larry King and going on her first date. Has had about 25 million hits on You tube so far. It’s actually heartwarming and all this for a woman who has never been kissed. I truly hope that she manages to hold onto her innate good sense and wish her the best of luck. However being slightly cynical as you are, I fervently pray that nothing untoward happens, but I DOUBT it.

    Like

    Comment by spook | April 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

