Bardiness

"..a bardy view!"

Barrack Oh – Bummer! Come on England!!

Just a few hours before England play the USA and some thoughts from a less enthusiastic rampant football fan.
Englandflag No I am not flying the Cross of St George on my car, nor out of my windows. I have not painted my face or carpeted my lounge with fake grass (yes, some of even done that!). 

Had the volume of patriotic tat purchased in the shops been made in England, I may have bought something in solidarity. Yet it is all made in China and most of the junk will be thrown in a bin sooner or later.

Such is the national fervour even the English flag is now flown over 10 Downing Street. What the Scots and Welsh think of it is anyones guess, but as everyone in the country appears to have gone mad, it's only natural that the Prime Minister's house follows suit.

Even Tesco are selling condoms called "66" in honour of the country's victory 44 years ago. No doubt many will be utilised in either joy or remorse, and I wonder if they have a built in penalty shoot out mechanism should passions exceed extra time if England reach the finals.

How this will impact on the population in nine months should they be faulty is anyones guess, but no doubt the baldy beer-bellied parents will say they did it for England anyway and heck, it was a good night regardless.

On a personal note I hope England trounce the yanks good and proper. I like Americans but I want the English to kick Barack O Bummers arse into touch. This arrogant, opportunist president doesn't like the British. That was made clear when he removed the bust of Winston Churchill from his office. Recently he has been Brit-bashing because of BP – a multinational company whose investors are almost half his own people.

When the gas guzzling super-power wants oil they tend to invade other countries for it – but now when it's being delivered to their own door they're still not happy.

When things go wrong it's always someone else's fault – its the Obama syndrome. He deserves a good barracking.
 

So to paraphrase Winnie – Let us therefore brace ourselves to our duties, and so bear ourselves,
that if  England and the World Cup last for a thousand years, men will still say, this was their finest
hour.

June 12, 2010 - Posted by | Culture, Current Affairs, Events, Politics, United Kingdom | , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. My dear old chap, an entertaining read as usual but England have as much chance of winning the World Cup as certain of their tennis players had of winning Wimbledon. Why do they persist with this habit of deluding themselves? Still and all I’ll be watching tonight’s game with bated breath, with the sound turned off of course. The constant banshee wail is worse than the cricket these days.

    Like

    Comment by Spook | June 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. Glad you liked it Kevin – I agree about the banshee wail – and its only the second day!

    Like

    Comment by Bardiness | June 12, 2010 | Reply

  3. Great pity about that tremendous save, if you see what I mean about delusions. Still I’d love to see old Blighty do well, for sentimental reasons. I just feel that this team lacks real characters which epitomise the best of the British. Having said that I feel sorry now for the goalie, which of us hasn’t dropped a dolly catch for example, even the great Colin Bland?

    Like

    Comment by Spook | June 13, 2010 | Reply

  4. Oh it’s a Bummer all right. I’ve always loved Americans and what I have always liked about them best is their ‘can do’ attitude. In any God made disaster Americans have always stood by themselves and don’t expect a million charities to spring up and help them, unlike other places. Now I know the oil spill is man made but when you have the President of this great country stand up and whine instead of atypical American ‘can do’, it is indeed a bum day.

    Like

    Comment by Spook | June 16, 2010 | Reply

  5. Rivetting stuff, snatching defeat from the jaws of victory once again. See what I mean?

    Like

    Comment by Spook | June 18, 2010 | Reply

  6. Well back home again and I’m not going to say I told you so. Maybe that second goal would have made a difference in the ming games. It’s a sad world where the English can no longer out think Herr Hun.
    I’m often left wondering why FIFA resist the third umpire? Even Tennis has it and I suppose that’s why? Football love the drama of a McEnroe and this would spoil the fun.

    Like

    Comment by Spook | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  7. It seems a very long time since I wrote this post. Still, the Ashes will be upon as again in a few months – thank God!

    Like

    Comment by Bar De Ness | June 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

