Bardiness

"..a bardy view!"

Is imitation the best form of flattery – or just downright plagiarism?

So there I was contemplating my navel – as we do – and it occurred to me that all my words written in so many places are just whispers on the ethernet wind. I've been laid low with a trapped nerve in my rear and consequently am somewhat immobile. I tell you, it's no fun, especially when just going to put the kettle on sends me into spasmodic agony. Anyway – far be it for me to complain – there are plenty folk out there with more serious problems.

But this period of physical inactivity has given me time to spend analysing the internet. For example, courtesy of Copyscape – a site which identifies copying and plagiarism -  I've discovered that whole sections of my work have been hijacked with impunity. There are travel sites in South America which have used my "Trek-Philippines" intro as their own. And don't get me started on the Philippines, where an abundance of sites have stolen my words.

I've come across respected global news media which have nicked my stuff. Take this for example about Audrey Hepburn: "Feminine beauty can be defined both within and without. Yet there are few women who exude both. Marilyn Monroe – stunning, flawed and vulnerable. Rita Hayworth, stunning, confident and – vulnerable. Sophia Loren, stunning, strong etc."

Well, excuse me, but those are my words and thoughts, first published on Bardiness.

And what about: "Whether you are careering in a bumpy multi-coloured jeepney along chaotic streets, or trotting gently in a horse drawn calesa through historic avenues; scuba diving in some of the world's finest waters or taking on the challenge of a mountain trek, the Philippines has everything to offer the adventurous traveller…" First published on Squidoo in 2007. This has been used in abundance around the web, by so-called "reputable organizations".

There are scores of other examples. Now don't get me wrong. The saying that "Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery" is a compliment of sorts, but it is a 19th century proverb not designed for the 21st.

I don't mind people using my stuff, but an acknowledgement would be nice or a backlink, or even a request to use it. After all, it's my work, so why should others assume they can take it for free?

I could of course visit all these sites and express my legal rights, that's what the Creative Commons License is designed for. But the prospect of spending time on this fills me with more agony than my current ailment.

I went to one today, a site which looked like a legit outfit, and gave them a piece of my mind, but it was just a "blogger" site. How many have already copied my stuff from there for example? Where is it now? That's the big question!

March 11, 2011 - Posted by | General, Squidoo, Travel, Weblogs | , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I’m downright appalled to hear this. Just what on Earth is the World coming to? I bleed for you and sincerely believe you should do something about it. I sincerely doubt however that any able minded person would consider copying any thing I have ever written. Commiserations.

    Like

    Comment by Spook Moor | March 11, 2011 | Reply

  2. We were quite flattered today when a competitor blatantly lifted parts of our sales newsletter. Why? It reaffirms that we are the market leader in our specific industry when competitors monitor us that closely and copy our initiatives to that extent.
    http://cybercellar.wordpress.com/2012/09/13/getwine-plagiarism-cybercellar-newsletter/

    Like

    Comment by Cybercellar | September 13, 2012 | Reply

  3. Alethea

    Is imitation the best form of flattery – or just downright plagiarism? (BARDINESS)

    Like

    Comment by Alethea | September 30, 2012 | Reply

  4. http://coloncleanserreviews.typepad.com/colon-cleanse/2012/04/more-on-scalp-med.html

    Is imitation the best form of flattery – or just downright plagiarism? (BARDINESS)

    Like

    Comment by http://coloncleanserreviews.typepad.com/colon-cleanse/2012/04/more-on-scalp-med.html | October 1, 2012 | Reply

  5. Ethel

    Is imitation the best form of flattery – or just downright plagiarism? (BARDINESS)

    Like

    Comment by Ethel | October 5, 2012 | Reply

  6. Tilly

    Is imitation the best form of flattery – or just downright plagiarism? (BARDINESS)

    Like

    Comment by Tilly | October 5, 2012 | Reply

  7. Sidney

    Is imitation the best form of flattery – or just downright plagiarism? (BARDINESS)

    Like

    Comment by Sidney | October 5, 2012 | Reply

  8. Julian

    Is imitation the best form of flattery – or just downright plagiarism? (BARDINESS)

    Like

    Comment by Julian | October 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

