Bardiness

"..a bardy view!"

Ancient Egypt – It’s revealing……

Mrs Bard and I visited Egypt six months ago, long before the recent troubles, and thoroughly enjoyed the usual round of tourist attractions on our cruise down the Nile.

However being a bit of an amateur photo buff, I always try and snap the unusual. I go for the typical scenery shots naturally, but being a "happy snapper" I tend to point and aim from the hip. Such is the revolution in digital cameras, my Sony Cybershot is primed and ready to be whipped out of my holster faster than John Wayne could say "stick 'em up you no good varmint" with his Colt 45.

I'm not able to spin it like him, but you can bet I can shoot just as fast.

Anyway, I've downloaded Google Picassa to organise all the photos on my hard drive and I found some which could imply that I'm attracted to well endowed females. (It was an accident guv! Honest!)

Still, I didn't notice them before and I have great pleasure in showing one here. Wandering around the many temples covered with carvings and hieroglyphics out pops this one.  Egypt2010 539

The ancient Egyptians (who obviously didn't have any monarchs like Queen Victoria who instructed that table legs should be modestly covered) seemed quite happy to display their women au naturel with considerable assets.

This carving of a woman – whoever she is – clearly has outstanding accoutrements.

Only one is on display – but that's because Egyptian carvings are always one dimensional. That must be one of the great mysteries.

For a people who built the Pyramids, how come they drew pictures like gifted five year olds at kindergarten? (I use the word kindergarten for my North American readers, but I actually mean primary school).

However, assuming that cosmetic surgery was unavailable 4000 years ago, either these Egyptian woman had bodies to die for, or the culture which created them were as much obsessed with the perfection of the female form as modern media is now.

Perhaps this was the ancient stone mason's air-brushing technique? Today they are called photo-editors.

As can be clearly seen, this eminent figure has a breast with perfect symmetry and may have been the benchmark design for torpedoes. She is a creature of beauty without doubt.

How many people must have gazed wondrously upon her over the centuries is unknown, and how many tourists who may have passed her without realising is equally unknown, but for sure, I'm very happy that my pistol was at the ready, and my six gun captured her in eternity.

I shall never visit her again, but I can live with the memory.

 

March 12, 2011 - Posted by | Arts, Culture, Education, History, Travel | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

