Bardiness

"..a bardy view!"

Life of Pi


Life-of-pi-poster2"The reason death sticks so closely to life isn't
biological necessity — it's envy.

Life is so beautiful that death has fallen in
love with it, a jealous, possessive love that grabs at what it can."

The quote comes from "Life of Pi" and continues…"But life leaps over oblivion lightly, losing only a thing or two of no
importance, and gloom is but the passing shadow of a cloud."

Determined to see the movie, I've decided to read the novel
first.

By coincidence I received it as a Christmas present.

It's an
enthralling, intelligent and evocative tale, beautifully written, rich with
insight and challenging to the senses.

That's probably why it was the Man
Booker Prize
winner 10 years ago.

I meant to read it then. I was late getting
there – but better late than never.

I've even downloaded it to my kindle so that I can
read it when I'm out and about, or when stuck in the GP and consulting waiting
rooms which I have been frequenting unusually often of late.

"My life is like a memento mori painting from European art, there is always a grinning skull at my side to remind me of the folly of human
ambition. I mock this skull. I look at it and I say – You've got the wrong
fellow. You may not believe in life, but I don't believe in death. Move
on!"

Yann Martel has a way with words. If gloom is but the
passing shadow of a cloud, then this book will dispel that shadow quickly – it
is uplifting, invigorating, inspiring.

Happy New Year.

January 7, 2013 - Posted by | Arts, Books, Conservation, Culture, Film, Religion | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Sounds a bit beyond my limited intellect? I only ended up going to an Agricultural college, one, College of Knowledge.

    Like

    Comment by spookmoor | January 8, 2013 | Reply

  2. I have watch this movie last week.. The life of pi is very inspirational. This is beyond imagination. 🙂 Life must go on whatever the challenge will be.

    Like

    Comment by Hurricane Sandy Help & Assistance | January 24, 2013 | Reply

  3. I’m going to see it soon. It’s had some great reviews, so I’m very much looking forward to it. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

    Comment by Bar De Ness | January 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

