Bardiness

"..a bardy view!"

Bardiness #300

"Who said watching paint dry wasn't fun?"

They couldn't have been more wrong!  Bar de Collage

I've been neglecting my platform here due to a new-found interest in watercolour painting (some examples on the right).

I find it more enjoyable than writing. Don't get me wrong, I'm still opinionated with specific observations and have considerable issues to address which normally I would dissect and present in an informative and humorous way as possible.


After all, Bardiness has served me well these past four and half year (has it been that long?) and when I look back at some of the 300 posts (go on count them – I dare you), they reflect in their own way a contemporary social history (if that makes sense), as well as some oddities on my mind which I threw into the pot.

I don't miss it (strangely enough), maybe I'm going through a stage – and in a few weeks time I may sharpen my quill and dip it with vigour into the Quink*. But at the moment I'm not thinking much about that.

I am thinking about painting however and every spare moment I'm dipping my sable hairs into the palette and producing a different composition – not one which uses sentences, grammar, construction or words of any kind – just colour and imagination.

I find it therapeutic, relaxing, enjoyable, and can easily lose myself for several hours without any thought to the world around me.

In just a few short weeks I will be in the Philippines and I'm enthused more than ever before, simply because I can spend my days on the veranda, on a lake, or in the coconut groves, in front of an easel with my paints and brushes. I'm hoping that my paintings will reflect the culture, society, topography and geography of the country – but who knows – we must wait and see.

Meanwhile I shall be practising and practising, hoping to discover a particular style, but in any event just sufficiently capable to know what I am doing. I'm especially looking forward to painting a coconut harvest scene and hopefully reflecting in it the essence of being there, in it's midst, and absorbing the reality, sights, smells and sounds. A tall order indeed – but I like a challenge!

During my three month sojourn I plan to submit a few more blog posts (internet permitting) together with my paintings, so I do hope you will be able to share them with me.

Thanks to my loyal readers past and present, and here's to Bardiness anew, and some thrilling, entertaining and outstanding posts and pictures yet to come.

*Quink (a portmanteau word from 'quick' and 'ink', or "Quisumbing Ink") is an ink developed by The Parker Pen Company and Francisco Quisumbing, a Filipino chemist.

August 12, 2013 - Posted by | Arts, Culture, General, The Philippines, Travel | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Wonderful! I look forward to your posts.

    Like

    Comment by charlino | August 12, 2013 | Reply

  2. Congratulations on the 300th. post, something, really something, and enjoy your break.
    Your loyal reader,
    Spook.

    Like

    Comment by Spook Moor | August 13, 2013 | Reply

  3. Thanks Charlino – I hope they live up to expectations.

    Like

    Comment by Bar De Ness | August 14, 2013 | Reply

  4. Cheers Spook – and thanks for the loyalty! 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Bar De Ness | August 14, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

